L-O-V-E

Love is complex.  I am guilty of trying to describe it but every time that I do I fail to put words together to even begin to touch the surface of it.  Love has no limits and cannot be contained.  Lately, I have been thinking about the love between parents and their child(ren), an aunt and nephew/niece, siblings, friends, mentors, colleagues, etc.  Each time that I reflect on those relationships and the love that is (and is not) embedded in them, I always find myself at the core of my love for God and, most importantly, His love for me.  An indescribable Love surrounds me and there are no words to describe the intense ache of love in my heart.  Love is not just a feeling but it can be felt, and it is the experience of Love that has captivated my days:

“It’s extravagant, it doesn’t make sense.  We’ll never comprehend the way You love us.  It’s unthinkable, only Heaven knows just how far You’d go to say you Love us” (Extravagant, Bethel Music).

Despite what I have done wrong and the adversity in my life, God still shows His love.  There have been so many times I asked, “Why God?  Why do you still love me and show goodness to me?  How can it be…ah, it just doesn’t make sense.”  Then there is a part of me that says, “Lisa, you already know.  That is who He is; it is His nature.”

—-

Another kind of love that I have been thinking a lot about that I did not mention above and implementing is self-love.  It is not selfish to love yourself and to take care of yourself physically, emotionally, spiritually, and mentally (all of the -ally’s).  It becomes selfish when that is all you take care of.  I believe that in order for me to love others well then it requires me to love myself too.

I am still learning on what it means to love myself but from what I know it is a beautiful thing.  It requires of me to get to know myself, to connect with my inner child, and to respond gently to my needs.  So, loving myself can be small like wiping my own tears, singing a phrase over myself, or having a cold cup of soy milk.  Loving myself can be going alone on an adventure and finding solace in the gentle breeze that slides by.  Loving myself can be putting on music or it can be turning off the music and wi-fi.  Loving myself can be when I am wrapped in my favorite blanket sitting alone and surrounded by my green plants.

Take the time to love yourself a little extra today.  It is a wonderful thing, my friend.

Leave a Reply

